Join Events

Drew-Walker Symposium Winners Announced!

The Drew-Walker Resident Paper Competition was held on Sunday, August 3, 2014, in Honolulu, Hawaii, in conjunction with the Annual Scientific Symposium of the Surgical Section. Ten podium presentations and 3 poster presentations comprised the symposium, which was moderated by Mallory Williams, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Toledo Medical Center. All of the presentations were excellent, making the task of the judges to select only 4 winners extremely difficult. The 4 winners were as follows:

First Place:

Lyen C. Huang, MD, MPH
Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA
“Minorities and High Volume Hospitals: Factor Influencing Underutilization of Surgical Treatment for Colorectal Cancer”

Second Place:

Syed Nabeel Zafar, MBBS MPH
Howard University, Washington, D.C.
“How Early should "Early" Laparoscopic Choleycystectomy be Performed for Acute Choleycysitis?”

Third Place:

John O. Hwabejire, MD MPH
Howard University, Washington, D.C.
“Body Mass Index in Blunt Traumatic Patients with Hemorrhagic Shock: Opposite Ends of the BMI Spectrum Portend Poor Outcome”

Fourth Place:

Jared Michael Davis, MD
University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
“Psoas Muscle Diameter as a Reliable Indicator of Sarcopenia”

First Place winner, Lyen C. Huang, MD, MPH, accepting
congratulations from Drew-Walker
Symposium Moderator, Mallory Williams, MD


Drew-Walker Symposium resident participants gather
for a post-symposium mentoring session
provided by members of the Surgical Section.

Home | News | About | Join | Gallery | Members Only | Events | Contact Us | Sitemap